Drunk And I Am Seeing Stars- LANA DEL REY

No matter how objective I try to be, my song choices for this blog always seem to reflect whatever is going on in my life at the moment. Currently it is my worryingly constant fascination with everything 60s and 70s. At times I feel like Barbra Streisand in the (70s classic film) The Way We Were, banging on about how easy and uncomplicated the past seemed to be, except there is no Hubbard reminding me that it was never uncomplicated. (Or if there is, he is no Robert Redford.) Part of me is acutely aware of the uselessness of aching for the past, but I gravitate towards nostalgia inducing songs like a confused moth to a distant flame. Newcomer Lana Del Rey has released one of those songs. Full of yearning and regret, Lana pouts through Video Games like a duck doped up on valium, radiating ruined glamour and vacant starlets. The early adoration in blogland has turned to vitriol after it was discovered she used to be plain ol’ Lizzie Grant, a pretty but run-of-the mill pop singer who did not exactly set the world on fire. (And by the way, those lips weren’t there either.)  After a complete image and history overhaul, Lizzie has emerged as a self-described Lolita-from-the-hood, a gangsta Nancy Sinatra breathily vamping it up for the no-good lover who likes bad girls and leaves her weeping crocodile tears somewhere west of Sunset and Vine. The video mixes old and new footage in the manner of old home movies, projected on white living room walls all those decades ago.

7 thoughts on “Drunk And I Am Seeing Stars- LANA DEL REY

  1. I like her voice – interesting! But those lips are well… unfortunate. And distracting. She was totally cute before! I was really confused by your “duck doped up on valium” comment until I watched the clip – ha ha. This video reminds me of Beirut’s Postcards from Italy. I really liked the Otis sounding guy from your last post too. Thanks for introducing me! 🙂

  2. It is little doubt that this is the best singer in the planeta! What makes a singer isn’t their personality, it’s their voice! I don’t like when people judge singers on things that just aren’t that interesting. Remember, they are entertainers, not actors! Let them do their thing and enjoy the melodies!

  3. Hey great post 🙂 really enjoyed reading it. if you find the time do check out my blog as well. thanks.

    arjun1097.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

