I wish I Could Anesthetize

The first time I heard ‘Lady Luck’, Jamie Woon was singing it acapella on a canoe in Cambodia. Released as a taster preview on Youtube, his  luminous voice was hypnotizing. It tapped into some peace frequency in my sternum. Oars softly clunked the boat, rays of sunlight sliced the tree tops, reflections danced on the water and my soul rested cocooned in the song. For a long time now, he’s  been London’s underground soulboy on the make with four years between the beautifully lamenting  ‘Wayfaring Stranger‘  and the  release of his debut album ‘Mirrorwriting’. I hear the folks at SWSX this year have been somewhat perplexed by this clean-cut, quiet  storm of a soul man who does not seem to fit into any mold. ‘Lady Luck’ has an effortless tick tock groove, a snapping rhythm underpinning the song. “With the loop station you are locked into a groove, he says, and the loop, it just keeps coming round, so you better take it somewhere you want to go.” I know exactly where I want to go. Straight on over to itunes. Woon does not rhyme with swoon for nothing.

Double click video to view

3 thoughts on “I wish I Could Anesthetize

Add yours

  1. That video was really well put together, and the singing was great, really smooth vocals. I train scenes kind of reminded me of the subway in Montreal and the flickering lights that are like a visual beat.

  2. Thanks so much for visiting my ‘Careann’s Musings’ blog today via Freshly Pressed. I love meeting new people here in cyberspace. As a writer I keep my blog’s focus mostly on writing, but I post on other topics, too. I’ve enjoyed having a peek at your blog and the video. I don’t know Jamie Woon, but Stevie Wonder…? Mmm, yeah! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

